I am checking out the Build A Better Blog Challenge at Problogger.net, not that I am a “problogger” but it cant hurt to get some hints on blogging. I really like the medium/genre and have been looking into how I can actually incorporate it into my career. Not here, of course. This is still my personal flow page ๐Ÿ™‚
So the first step entitled Write an Elevator Pitch, is to develop a pitch for your blog, or a blurb, I would call it, a brief description of what the blog is about and offers to the reader.
I kind of like my little tagline “The block has been…etc,” which was just the first thing I thought of when I decided to do this blog. That pretty much sums up that the blog is just whatever I have coming out of me when I am in a flow. But that’s probably not a “pro” answer. I have actually used my “blogging credentials” in some queries and applications and I have felt a little awkward in describing it. After all, it is decidedly not professional, so does it even count as experience or qualification? I do feel it is experience, if only as a learning process, which is how I have thought of it from the beginning. I have altered my About page before, and it could probably use sprucing up, but I think that showing the changes helps me and others see how this blog has grown.

So, tentatively, here’s an “elevator pitch”:

Writer’s Flow is a weblog about my experience on the writing path. I have been writing for most of my life, but have only recently ventured into the public arena. As a lifelong bookworm and former educator, as well as a mother, I also want to promote reading and literacy. I share what I learn and think about the writing lifestyle, as well as resources for other writers, readers and educators.

Does that sound professional or pretentious? Well, like I said, it’s tentative.

Btw: the prompt today is to write about something missing….which, for now, is today’s poem ๐Ÿ˜‰

