I have dragged myself to the keyboard several times today, but I am still stuck on the same scene. I managed to up the word count a bit this morning, but I am definitely still behind. Today has pretty much been dominated by Kleenex, which there can not be enough of, and glue, with which I enticed my housebound children in order to get some work done/rest. It has been raining here for the past two days, so I am running out of options. They made collages while I tried to write, but, of course, that only lasted for awhile and eventually, my throbbing head insisted it was nap time, for all of us.

I appreciated the NaNo Pep Talk in my Inbox from YA author Meg Cabot (Princess Diaries), which I certainly need today. She pinpoints the problem I have had in the past which is the tendency to get frustrated and/or bored with my work in progress, give up easily and move onto something new and different. Quick quote:

Do you think I haven’t been there?  Cheating on your current work-in-progress with a new one is the oldest trick in the book!  I have a plastic milk crate crammed full of stories I started and never finished because I cheated on them, then got so enamored of my new story, I never went back to the old one.  Over and over and over again.

And that, my friends, is how you never finish a book.  Take it from someone who has hundreds (maybe even a few thousand) of unfinished stories because of this phenomenon.

I was starting to feel the nudge to give up, and forget it because I have so far to go and no energy right now. And of course, there are still a hundred and forty-two other things I have to do this week and I am this side of neglecting my family and home. The problem is, I have not gotten far enough in my own story to be hooked myself. Right now, it is like a knitting project with several threads which will eventually all come together. In my original plan, there were a few specific places where the plot would build. I am still working on expository scenes and building the two main characters. Turns out that they have more to say than I expected. But I know I am getting there, and I really want to see if I can pull the whole thing off.

One thing is for sure, writing full time is a struggle for me. If I do get anywhere in the writing world, I will have to figure out how to get more time and space for myself. I know a lot of writer mamas really get started when the kids start school, but that is still a couple years off for us, and I want to start now. I am already thinking of 2009 and planning on setting a schedule and deadlines for myself. But first, I have to get through November.

