My husband is working on the kitchen renovations behind me, loud saws and drills and all. I can’t even block it out with the headphones blasting DMB. My son did something to the computer before leaving on a weekend Scout camping trip and  I can’t get anything to work on Internet Explorer so I am trying Firefox now. Even if I am still thousands of words behind schedule, I am at least keeping up with the blogging for NaBloPoMo. I was going to try to attend a local get together with some WriMos [actually in another town about 1/2 hour from me] but I am determined to get to 15,000 by the end of the weekend and since I do not have a laptop, attending a write-in might be pointless. I could be spending that precious time here being productive. I really just wanted to go to meet some locals.

I appreciate all of the comments, especially the reminders that I do not have to have a perfect work completed in 22 days, 7 hours and…[don’t you love that counter on the NaNo page that greets you when you sign on?]. I am having fun with my characters as they are progressing and I am just so happy to be writing! I have had a few waves of panic and blankness, but am learning the art of plot twisting to keep myself from getting stuck or lost. Does that make sense? I just hope I do not veer too far off of my original course.

I think that one of the reasons I am not freaking or quitting is because I am not thinking of this as a possible publication, more like an assignment. I have always done well in academic writing and can generally meet assignments as expected. So, this is homework and I either pass or fail on December 1st.

I figure then I can look at revising and editing it as another course for next “semester”. Let’s hope I maintain motivation that long. It will be harder with out the encouragement and peer  pressure that NaNo offers.

