50 Ideas to Immediately Combat Writers Block « Andrea Goulet

OK… i came across this list when i was surfing around in the middle of the night, checking on some sites, researching, well, I was procrastinating, doing anything but writing which is what I got on here to do in the first place, but of course, first I had to check my mail and answer some messages and click this link…and another…

and I have to confess that reading this list was all the inspiration I needed [at least to come here] because it is pretty much a list of all the things I do anyway when I am procrastinating, I mean combating writer’s block…[which sounds so much better], but am I? I am a procrastinator from way back, in fact, I would have minored in it but I never got around to applying, though i definitely racked up the credits. At this point I have to admit that I am not so much blocked as I am slack… [Can I call it “writer’s slack”?] That’s what I mean by ‘flow’– I have ideas flowing out of most of my orifices these days but I am just not doing it enough…‘it’ being writing, producing…creating…

Sometimes I have so many thoughts and ideas streaming through me, I can’t stop and get them down…my best stories have never made it to paper. Is that even writing? When I was young, I couldn’t sleep at night until I followed a story through, in my head. They’re all still up there, bumping around, and of course, they have to compete with all of the anxieties and numbers and crap i have to remember and think of all damnday… I still can’t sleep with the noise going on in there, so I read other people’s books until I fall asleep…or get caught in the web where I read other blogs… other people’s words just to avoid my own…

Even this has become a diversion of sorts, but it’s also an exercise. Perhaps in futility, but like I said when I began this weblog, this is a learning experience. Aren’t they all?

Which somehow leads me back to Ms. Goulet’s list…another diversion perhaps, or maybe a checklist I have almost completed. Now that I have procrastinated enough and released the block, am I ready to work?

